Nursery Croydon - Tel: 07951022775

    Learn Nursery Little Blessings Nursery Croydon

    Click the links below to find out more about each area

    At Little Blessings we focus on seven key areas of learning in order to ensure that your child excels and is prepared for school when they leave us.  Those seven areas are seperated into three prime areas and four specific areas.

    The three prime areas are:

    Personal, Social and Emotional Development

    Involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in group; and to have confidence in their abilities.

    We aim to develop three main areas of personal, social and emotional development:

    1. Making relationships
    2. Self-confidence and self-awareness
    3. Managing feelings and behaviour

    Communication and Language

    Involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment, to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves, and to speak and listen in a range of situations. 

    We aim to develop three main areas of communication and language:

    1. Listening and attention
    2. Understanding
    3. Speaking

    Physical Development

    Involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive, and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement.  Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

    We aim to develop two main areas of physical development:

    1. Moving and handling
    2. Health and self-care

    seven areas of learning

    The four specific areas are:


    Involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their interest.

    We aim to develop two main areas of literacy:

    1. Reading
    2. Writing

    Expressive Art and Design

    Involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play and design and technology.

    We aim to develop two main areas of expressive art and design:

    1. Exploring and using media and materials
    2. Being imaginative


    Involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shape, spaces, and measures.

    We aim to develop two main areas of mathematics:

    1. Numbers
    2. Shape, space and measures

    Understanding the World

    Involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.

    We aim to develop three main areas of understanding the world:

    1. People and communities
    2. The world
    3. Technology

    We have many measures, including very capable staff, who help to aid and excel the development of our children in these areas.

    Find out more about what your child will do here:

    Translate »